A New Year, A New Currency

A New Year, A New Currency

A New Year, a New Currency

Croatia says goodbye to its Kuna currency as it adopts the Euro. Croatia has become the 20th country to join the Eurozone, as it adopts the Euro as its currency.

But there is more; Croatia has also joined the Schengen area and will be the 27th nation in the passport-free Schengen zone, the world’s largest, which enables more than 400 million people to move freely around its member nations.

Croatia’s entry into the Schengen borderless area will also provide a boost to the Adriatic nation’s key tourism industry. Croatia will still apply strict border controls on its eastern frontier with non-EU neighbours Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, and Serbia.

It is believed that Croatia will benefit from using the EU’s common currency, and this will boost the tourism industry.

euro-coins-croatia.jpgPhoto: HNB